Multi-acquiring: why it can be worthwhile using more than one acquiring bank

9 September 2021

multi acquiring Acquiring Bank

There is no cashless payment without authorisation from an acquiring bank that charges a fee for its service. For this service, 43% of merchants have so far limited themselves to working with a single acquiring bank – partly because integrating different acquirers can involve a great deal of effort. In this article, you will learn what an acquiring bank does, why a multi-acquiring strategy is worthwhile for most merchants, and how you can make it easier to integrate new acquirers.

Content of the article

Definition of acquirer: what is an acquiring bank and how does acquirer payment work?

All merchants who offer cashless payments must conclude a card acceptance agreement with an acquiring bank in advance.
This acquiring bank (also known as an acquirer or merchant bank) authorises or rejects a cashless payment based on the validity of the card and the given credit limit.
In this role, the acquiring bank acts as an important buffer between the payment service provider (PSP) and the issuing bank.

Cashless payment: Key market players. POS Software Companies, Payment Terminal Provider, Payment Service Provider, Acquirer and Banks.
Cashless payment: The most important market players.

Find out what roles these and other market participants play in cashless payments and how they interact with each other in our article on cashless payments.

Examples of well-known acquirers in Germany and Switzerland

  • Adyen
  • American Express
  • concardis nets group
  • Elavon
  • Hobex Payment Systems
  • PAYONE
  • Worldline | Six Payment Services

What is the lock-in effect?

A lock-in effect is a situation where customers find it difficult to switch to another provider due to high switching costs or other obstacles. The higher the switching costs, the greater the lock-in effect.

How do acquiring banks benefit from the lock-in effect?

In order to enable their customers to make cashless payments, merchants must provide the technical infrastructure (card terminal and POS system) and also conclude contracts with a payment service provider (PSP) and (at least) an acquiring bank.
In order for cashless payment to function smoothly, these different areas must be coordinated with each other. This creates organisational and technical dependencies that can make it very complicated for merchants to change acquiring banks.
To avoid these complications, merchants often stay with an acquiring bank despite high fees.

What is a multi-acquiring strategy?

In a multi-acquiring strategy, merchants or payment service providers work with several acquiring banks at the same time so that they are independent of any one acquirer from a technical, legal and commercial perspective.
If multi-acquiring is implemented in your own EFT system, cashless payments can always be processed by the acquiring bank that best suits the relevant card or payment type, or that offers the best conditions.

Advantages of multi-acquiring: why it can be worthwhile for merchants to use more than one acquiring bank

Fewer outages

Wenn es auf Seiten einer Acquirer Bank zu einem technischen Störfall oder Betriebsausfall kommt, kann der Betrieb im Fall einer Multi-Acquiring-Strategie trotzdem reibungslos fortgeführt werden.

Greater flexibility

The multi-acquiring strategy gives merchants (and PSPs) greater flexibility to respond to their customers’ payment preferences. This flexibility is becoming increasingly important for merchants as more and more different means of payment (such as smartphones and smartwatches) are being used.

Higher conversion rates

With a multi-acquiring strategy, merchants can accept even more card types and currencies. At the same time, those who have to reject fewer payments automatically benefit from a higher conversion rate. By the way: 85% of merchants who have introduced multi-acquiring confirm that this is the case.

More bargaining power

In addition, a multi-acquiring strategy means that the payment processing can always be specifically entrusted to the acquirer that offers the best conditions.
This competition gives merchants more bargaining power vis-à-vis acquiring banks – and at the same time frees them from the lock-in effect.

What can be done to make the introduction of multi-acquiring simpler?

Merchants who want to introduce multi-acquiring must adapt their payment infrastructure accordingly. When it comes to technical integration, Pepper, the universal connection between payment terminal and POS device, makes it much easier to connect new terminals and thus considerably reduces the effort and expense involved.

How do you keep track of the different fees involved in multi-acquiring?

Several acquirers in parallel – this means that there will also be a variety of different fees (depending on the acquirer contract). The payment analytics centre of the reconciliation software Matchbox helps merchants to keep track of all the structures and fees of the different acquiring banks – and thus optimise their costs.

Summary

An increasing number of merchants are using several acquiring banks at the same time. Despite the initial effort involved in integration, such a multi-acquiring strategy offers a whole range of advantages:

  • Using multiple acquirers increases the likelihood that a payment will go through – ensuring smooth operations.
  • Increasing the number of card types and payment methods accepted increases the conversion rate.
  • Having a choice of acquirer for each transaction results in greater bargaining power on the part of the merchant.
Recent posts

The Nexo protocol: a new initiative to standardise cashless payments

15 September 2021 – The world of cashless payments is characterised by a range of standards, technologies and protocols – especially when it comes to cross-border transactions. The Nexo Standards consortium has taken on the task of advancing the interoperability of technologies for cashless payments. Continue reading

How Matchbox helps to make holidays more restful

27 July 2021 – In mid-2018, “Bühnen Bern” decided to streamline its accounting process and make it significantly more efficient with the help of Matchbox. Continue reading

How Pepper Container supports cloud-based bicycle dealer software Cycly

19 April 2021 – From customer, order, repair and warehouse management to cash register functions, the cloud-based Cycly software combines all relevant areas of a bicycle dealer in one central system. A connector box connects the hardware devices, including POS terminals, to the software. But how does it communicate with the vast range of ... Continue reading

Multi-Acquiring: Warum es sich lohnen kann, auf mehr als eine Acquiring Bank zu setzen

9. September 2021

multi acquiring Acquiring Bank

Keine bargeldlose Zahlung ohne die Autorisierung durch eine Acquiring Bank, die für Ihren Service eine Gebühr erhebt. Für diese Dienstleistung beschränken sich 43% der Händler bis heute auf die Zusammenarbeit mit einer einzigen Acquiring Bank – unter anderem, weil die Integration verschiedener Acquirer hohen Aufwand mit sich bringen kann. In diesem Artikel erfahren Sie, was eine Acquiring Bank macht, warum sich eine Multi-Acquiring-Strategie in den meisten Fällen für Händler lohnt – und wie Sie den Aufwand bei der Integration neuer Acquirer reduzieren können.

Inhalt des Artikels

Definition Acquirer: Was ist eine Acquiring Bank und wie funktioniert das Acquirer Payment?

Alle Händler, die bargeldlose Zahlungen anbieten, müssen dafür im Vorfeld einen sogenannten Kartenakzeptanzvertrag mit einer Acquiring Bank abschliessen.
Diese Acquiring Bank (auch Acquirer oder deutsch Händlerbank genannt) autorisiert eine bargeldlose Zahlung oder lehnt sie ab, basierend auf der Gültigkeit der Karte und dem vorgegebenen Kreditlimit.
In dieser Rolle übernimmt die Acquiring Bank eine wichtige Pufferfunktion zwischen dem so genannten Payment Service Provider (PSP) und der Issuing Bank.

Eine Grafik, die die verschiedenen Marktteilnehmer im Kontext des bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehrs zeigt: Von Kassensystem-Herstellern, über Payment Terminal Hersteller, Payment Service Provider und Acquirer bis zu den Banken.
Bargeldloser Zahlungsverkehr: Die wichtigsten Marktteilnehmer.

Welche Rollen diese und andere Marktteilnehmer im bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehr spielen und wie sie miteinander interagieren, erfahren Sie in unserem Artikel über den bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehr.

Beispiele für bekannte Acquirer in Deutschland und der Schweiz

  • Adyen
  • American Express
  • concardis nets group
  • Elavon
  • Hobex Payment Systems
  • PAYONE
  • Worldline | Six Payment Services

Was ist der Lock-in-Effekt?

Als Lock-in-Effekt bezeichnet man einen Zustand, bei dem Kunden durch hohe Wechselkosten oder andere Barrieren der Wechsel zu einem anderen Anbieter erschwert wird. Die Höhe der Wechselkosten bestimmt dabei das Ausmass des Lock-in-Effekts.

Wie profitieren Acquiring Banken vom Lock-in-Effekt?

Um ihren Kunden bargeldlose Zahlungen zu ermöglichen, müssen Händler einerseits die technische Infrastruktur (Kartenterminal und Kassensystem) bereitstellen, und andererseits Verträge mit einem Payment Service Provider (PSP) und (mindestens) einer Acquirer Bank abschliessen.
Damit eine bargeldlose Zahlung problemlos funktioniert, müssen diese unterschiedlichen Bereiche aufeinander abgestimmt sein. Dabei entstehen organisatorische und technische Abhängigkeiten, die einen Wechsel der Acquiring Bank für Händler sehr aufwändig machen können.
Um diesen hohen Aufwand zu vermeiden, kommt es in der Praxis vor, dass Händler trotz hoher Gebühren bei einer Acquiring Bank bleiben.

Was ist eine Multi-Acquiring-Strategie?

Bei einer Multi-Acquiring Strategie arbeiten Händler oder Payment Service Provider mit mehreren Acquirer Banken gleichzeitig zusammen, um sich technisch, rechtlich und geschäftlich unabhängig von einem einzelnen Acquirer zu machen.
Ist Multi-Acquiring im eigenen EFT-System implementiert, können bargeldlose Zahlungen immer durch diejenige Acquiring Bank abgewickelt werden, die zu der jeweiligen Karte oder Zahlungsart am besten passt – bzw. die besten Konditionen bietet.

Multi-Acquiring Vorteile: Warum es für Händler sinnvoll sein kann, auf mehr als eine Acquiring Bank zu setzen

Weniger Ausfälle

Wenn es auf Seiten einer Acquirer Bank zu einem technischen Störfall oder Betriebsausfall kommt, kann der Betrieb im Fall einer Multi-Acquiring-Strategie trotzdem reibungslos fortgeführt werden.

Mehr Flexibilität

Die Multi-Acquiring-Strategie schenkt Händlern (und PSPs) mehr Flexibilität, um auf die Zahlungspräferenzen ihrer Kunden eingehen zu können. Diese Flexibilität wird für Händler zunehmend wichtiger, da immer mehr unterschiedliche Zahlungsmittel (wie z.B. Smartphones oder Smartwatches) Verwendung finden.

Höhere Conversion-Rates

Mit einer Multi-Acquiring-Strategie könnnen Händler noch mehr Kartentypen und Währungen akzeptieren. Wer indes weniger Zahlungen ablehnen muss, profitiert automatisch von einer höheren Conversion Rate. Übrigens: 85% der Händler , die Multi-Acquiring eingeführt haben, bestätigen diese Entwicklung.

Mehr Verhandlungsmacht

Zudem erlaubt eine Multi-Acquiring-Strategie immer genau den Acquirer mit der Zahlungs-Abwicklung zu beauftragen, der die besten Konditionen bietet.

Dieser Wettbewerb schenkt Händlern mehr Verhandlungsmacht gegenüber den Acquiring Banken – und befreit sie gleichzeitig vom Lock-in-Effekt.

Was kann die Einführung von Multi-Acquiring erleichtern?

Händler, die Multi-Acquiring einführen möchten, müssen dafür ihre Zahlungsinfrastruktur entsprechend anpassen. Wenn es um die technische Integration geht, kann Pepper, die universelle Verbindung zwischen Payment-Terminal und Kasse, die Anbindung neuer Terminals deutlich erleichtern und den Aufwand damit erheblich reduzieren.

Wie gewinnt man beim Multi-Acquiring mehr Überblick über die unterschiedlichen Gebühren?

Mehrere Acquirer parallel – das sorgt auch für eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Gebühren (je nach Acquirer-Vertrag). Das Payment-Analytics-Center der Reconciliation-Software Matchbox hilft Händlern, den Überblick über alle Strukturen und Gebühren der unterschiedlichen Acquiring Banken zu behalten – und damit ihre Kosten zu optimieren.

Zusammenfassung

Immer mehr Händler setzen auf mehr als eine Acquiring Bank gleichzeitig. Trotz des anfänglichen Aufwands bei der Integration bringt diese so genannte Multi-Acquiring-Strategie eine ganze Reihe an Vorteilen mit sich:

  • Mehrere Acquirer erhöhen die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass eine Zahlung durchläuft – und sichern damit einen reibungslosen Betriebsablauf.
  • Die erhöhte Akzeptanz von mehr Kartentypen und Zahlungsmitteln steigert die Conversion-Rate.
  • Die freie Wahl der Acquirer bei jeder Transaktion resultiert in einer höheren Verhandlungsmacht auf Seiten des Händlers.
Recent posts

Das Nexo Protocol: Eine neue Initiative zur Standardisierung des bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehrs

15. September 2021 – Noch ist das Nexo Protocol nicht weit verbreitet. Doch es hat das Potenzial in Zukunft zu einem der wichtigsten Protokolle zu werden. Die Gründe dafür und die Einschränkungen erfahren Sie in diesem Artikel. Weiterlesen

Wie Matchbox hilft, Urlaube erholsamer zu machen

27. Juli 2021 – Mitte 2018 entschied sich «Bühnen Bern» dafür, die eigene Buchhaltung mit Hilfe von Matchbox zu erleichtern und deutlich effizienter zu machen. Weiterlesen

Wie Pepper Container die cloud-basierte Fahrradhändler-Software Cycly unterstützt

19. April 2021 – Von Kunden-, Auftrags- und Reparaturverwaltung über Lagerbewirtschaftung bis hin zu den Kassenfunktionen vereint die cloud-basierte Cycly-Software alle relevanten Bereiche eines Zweiradhändlers in einem zentralen System. Die Hardware-Geräte, inklusive der POS-Terminals, werden über eine so genannte Connector-Box mit der Software verbunden. Doch wie kommuniziert diese Connector-Box wiederum mit den unterschiedlichsten POS-Terminals, ... Weiterlesen