The Nexo protocol: a new initiative to standardise cashless payments

15 September 2021

The world of cashless payments is characterised by a range of standards, technologies and protocols – especially when it comes to cross-border transactions. The Nexo Standards consortium has taken on the task of advancing the interoperability of technologies for cashless payments. To do this, the organisation has developed its own standards.

But who is behind the consortium? How important are these Nexo protocols today, in particular when it comes to connecting POS terminals to POS systems? What potential does the Nexo protocol offer? And what are the limitations? treibauf provides expert and independent information.

Content of the article

Nexo Standards: the organisation behind the Nexo protocols

Nexo Standards is an open consortium of different companies from the field of cashless payments that aims to develop, establish and disseminate international standards for payment technology. All of the organisation’s developments comply with the technical ISO 20022 standard.

The companies behind Nexo Standards

The Nexo Standards consortium includes many industry leaders, which together bring great importance to both the organisation and the Nexo protocols it has developed.

The consortium membership is divided into two categories: «Principal Members» and «Associate Members». The table below gives an overview of the best-known Nexo Standards members:

Principal Members Associate Members
American Express Payment Europe S.L. ACI Worldwide
Ant Group Co., Ltd. Adyen
BNP Paribas Banque Edel
Credit Agricole Payment Services Barclaycard International
Discover Financial Services Diebold Nixdorf
Euro Kartensysteme GmbH Epay Euronet
Frenchsys Hitachi-Omron Terminal Solutions
JCB International (Europe) Ltd. Interac Association
Market Pay Monext
Mastercard Moneycore
Poste Italiane Novelpay SP. Z O.O.
Saudi Payments PayCert
TOTAL Energies PayTec AG
Unionpay International Co. Ltd. Salzburger Banken Software
Verifone Systems France SAS Schwarz IT KG (SIT)
VISA Subway
Worldline NV/SA UL

This is just a selection of the best-known members. The Nexo Standards website contains a full list of members and observers.

What does Nexo Standards want to achieve?

The primary aim of Nexo Standards is to develop a series of state-of-the-art standards that meet the requirements of the EFTPOS sector. These open standards should be made accessible free-of-charge and are seen as an important step towards a standardised payment market from which all stakeholders can benefit, especially multinational trading companies.

The Nexo standard: the key Nexo protocols at a glance

Nexo Standards is seeking to standardise, at an international level, all technical interfaces used in cashless payments through state-of-the-art, open protocols. We have briefly listed and explained these key protocols here for you:

The Nexo Acquirer Protocol

The aim is for this protocol to become a standard, international interface between acceptors and acquirers. The standard allows for both a direct connection between traders and acquirers as well as the traditional version via a Payment Service Provider (PSP). This should simplify Multi-Acquiring strategies and enable greater compliance across national borders.

The Nexo Retailer Protocol

The Nexo protocol for traders defines a whole series of interfaces between payment terminal and the POS system. This provides for clear separation between the ERP and the payment process, supports different payment and customer loyalty programmes and offers a uniform approach to different technical environments.

The Nexo TMS Protocol

This open protocol serves as an interface between a Terminal Management System (TMS) and a payment system. The new interface supports the configuration and management of all terminals and should mean that traders are no longer bound to certain manufacturers due to lock-in effects.

ISO 20022: the technical standard that forms the basis for all Nexo protocols

The ISO 20022 standard was developed as a common standard for the finance industry to bring uniformity to the communication of information across various segments of the sector.

The logic behind this standard is based on a strict separation between the basic principle of how information is portrayed (the actual standard) and the actual portrayal of the information in a programming language (the syntax). This makes standards such as the Nexo protocols independent of any coding conventions. ISO 20022 therefore forms an important basis for the interoperability of different systems in the field of cashless payments.

However, as this allows for differences in the specific software implementation, a change can still entail significant complexity and expense.

The Nexo Retailer protocol in detail

The integrated operation of the payment terminal requires communication between the POS device and the terminal, in which the POS device informs the payment terminal of the transaction type and the amount. Upon completion of the payment process, the terminal returns the results to the POS device. This communication takes place via a defined protocol.

The status quo: internationally different protocols

Within Europe, each country has its own predominant communication protocols. In Germany, for example, the ZVT protocol is an example of an attempt at national standardisation. However, a whole range of other protocols are also used in addition to this. What’s more, some acquirers also develop their own, new POS interfaces.

This makes it very costly and complex for traders to switch terminal (and thereby change acquirer). The lock-in effects that this leads to for traders are explained in our article about multi-acquiring.

The Nexo POS interface: an attempt at international standardisation

The aim of the Nexo protocol for communication between payment terminal and POS is to make it easier for traders to switch between terminals from different providers without problems – meaning they are no longer bound to specific acquirers.

Although the Nexo protocol is relatively new to the market, it already offers users a very wide range of functions. As it is based on the ISO 20022 standard, it also enables both the range of functions and the communication sequence to be changed in a later version without affecting existing systems.

How widely used is the Nexo Retailer protocol?

To date (as of August 2021), the Nexo Retailer protocol is still considered to be a niche protocol, that is to say, it is currently not really widespread.

Yet its state-of-the-art, open design together with the fact that the Nexo Standards organisation brings together many sector leaders suggests that the Nexo protocol will play an increasingly important role in future.

How is the Nexo protocol for communication between payment terminal and POS device structured?

Each message exchanged between the payment terminal and the POS device via the Nexo Retailer protocol follows a strict structure:

  • Message header
  • Message content
  • Security section

How are the data packaged in the Nexo protocol?

The Nexo protocol is deliberately designed to be very open and allows for three different options for the format of the data used:

How are the packaged data sent in the Nexo protocol?

The Nexo protocol also allows for three different options for the transfer protocol:

What does this Nexo protocol openness mean for traders?

Acquirers and terminal integrators can choose which data format or transfer protocol they want to use. On the one hand, this openness may, of course, help to accelerate the spread of the Nexo protocol.

But for traders, this also means that one Nexo option is not the same as another, as the different implementation options often prevent plug & play capability when changing terminal. The complexity and expense when changing can quickly become (almost) as high as with other communication protocols.

Nexo protocol: benefits for traders

  • The Nexo protocol has enormous potential for the future as Nexo Standards has brought together the biggest companies in the sector.
  • The protocol’s state-of-the-art design provides a large range of functions that cover all the latest sector requirements (mobile payment, bonus systems, etc.).
  • Its open design makes it possible to expand the protocol at any time to incorporate future functions.
  • With the right choice of data format and transfer protocol, the Nexo protocol is cloud-compatible.
  • With the right choice of transfer protocol, the Nexo protocol can be used securely for a transfer via the public internet.

Nexo protocol: disadvantages for traders

  • The openness of the Nexo protocol also has one critical disadvantage: there is large scope for interpretation when implementing the protocol in a specific software program.
  • This also leads to acquirer-specific, proprietary protocol extensions for the Nexo protocol that make switching complex and costly for traders and run counter to efforts to achieve interoperability.

The benefits of universal POS interfaces

So, what are the alternatives if the new Nexo protocol cannot guarantee absolute interoperability and flexibility?

The answer is a universal interface that is compatible not only with over 150 different communication protocols, but also with all common interpretations and expansions that go beyond the standard version of those communication protocols.

This interface, called Pepper, makes it really quick and easy to connect new terminal models (or POS interfaces) both domestically and abroad. Furthermore, it gives retail companies greater flexibility and independence in terms of which acquirer to work with.

Summary: the Nexo protocol

  • Currently, the Nexo Retailer protocol is not yet very widespread, although this is likely to change in the coming years,
  • as the consortium behind the Nexo protocols, the Nexo Standards organisation, is bringing together some of the biggest companies in the sector.
  • The Nexo protocols have been newly developed on the basis of the ISO 20022 standard and offer all the state-of-the-art functions and features.
  • Thanks to its open design, the protocol can be expanded at any time to incorporate future functions.
  • However, the scope for interpretation of the protocol that comes with this does give rise to acquirer-specific, proprietary protocol expansions which may make it more difficult for traders to change terminal easily.
  • Universal interfaces, such as Pepper from treibauf, are compatible with all standard communication protocols (including the Nexo protocol) and thereby make it easier to connect new payment terminals.
Recent posts

Multi-acquiring: why it can be worthwhile using more than one acquiring bank

9 September 2021 – In this article, you will learn what an acquiring bank does, why a multi-acquiring strategy is worthwhile for most merchants, and how you can make it easier to integrate new acquirers. Continue reading

How Matchbox helps to make holidays more restful

27 July 2021 – In mid-2018, “Bühnen Bern” decided to streamline its accounting process and make it significantly more efficient with the help of Matchbox. Continue reading

How Pepper Container supports cloud-based bicycle dealer software Cycly

19 April 2021 – From customer, order, repair and warehouse management to cash register functions, the cloud-based Cycly software combines all relevant areas of a bicycle dealer in one central system. A connector box connects the hardware devices, including POS terminals, to the software. But how does it communicate with the vast range of ... Continue reading

Das Nexo Protocol: Eine neue Initiative zur Standardisierung des bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehrs

15. September 2021

nexo protocol

Die Welt des bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehrs ist von einer Vielzahl an Standards, Technologien und Protokollen geprägt – insbesondere über Ländergrenzen hinweg. Das Konsortium Nexo Standards hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Interoperabilität der Technologien für bargeldlose Zahlungen voranzutreiben. Dafür hat die Organisation eigene Standards entwickelt.

Doch wer steckt hinter dem Konsortium? Wie wichtig sind diese Nexo Protokolle heute – insbesondere, wenn es um die Anbindung von POS-Terminals an Kassensysteme geht? Was sind die Potenziale des Nexo Protocols? Und welche Einschränkungen gibt es? treibauf informiert kompetent und unabhängig.

Inhalt des Artikels

Nexo Standards: Die Organisation hinter den Nexo Protokollen

Nexo Standards ist ein offener Zusammenschluss verschiedener Unternehmen aus dem Bereich der bargeldlosen Zahlungen mit dem Ziel, internationale Standards für Zahlungstechnologien zu entwickeln, zu etablieren und zu verbreiten. Alle Entwicklungen der Organisation fussen auf der technischen Norm ISO 20022.

Die Unternehmen hinter Nexo Standards

Hinter dem Zusammenschluss Nexo Standards stehen viele Branchengrössen, die gemeinsam der Organisation selbst und den entwickelten Nexo Protokollen grosse Bedeutung schenken.

Der Zusammenschluss unterscheidet zwischen «Principal Members» und «Associate Members». Die folgende Tabelle gibt einen Überblick über die bekanntesten Mitglieder von Nexo Standards.

Principal Members Associate Members
American Express Payment Europe S.L. ACI Worldwide
Ant Group Co., Ltd. Adyen
BNP Paribas Banque Edel
Credit Agricole Payment Services Barclaycard International
Discover Financial Services Diebold Nixdorf
Euro Kartensysteme GmbH Epay Euronet
Frenchsys Hitachi-Omron Terminal Solutions
JCB International (Europe) Ltd. Interac Association
Market Pay Monext
Mastercard Moneycore
Poste Italiane Novelpay SP. Z O.O.
Saudi Payments PayCert
TOTAL Energies PayTec AG
Unionpay International Co. Ltd. Salzburger Banken Software
Verifone Systems France SAS Schwarz IT KG (SIT)
VISA Subway
Worldline NV/SA UL

Das ist nur eine Auswahl der bekanntesten Mitglieder. Auf der Website von Nexo Standards finden Sie eine vollständige Liste aller Mitglieder und Observer.

Was will Nexo Standards erreichen?

Das primäre Ziel von Nexo Standards ist, eine Reihe von State-of-the-Art Standards zu entwickeln, welche die Anforderungen der EFTPOS-Branche erfüllen. Diese offenen Standards sollen gebührenfrei zugänglich gemacht werden und werden als ein wichtiger Schritt hin zu einem vereinheitlichten Zahlungsmarkt gesehen, von dem alle Stakeholder profitieren sollen – insbesondere natürlich multinationale Handelsunternehmen.

Der Nexo Standard: Die wichtigsten Nexo Protokolle in der Übersicht

Nexo Standards versucht, alle technischen Schnittstellen im bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehr durch moderne, offene Protokolle international zu standardisieren. Die wichtigsten haben wir hier für sie kurz aufgeführt und erläutert:

Das Nexo Acquirer Protocol

Dieses Protokoll soll zu einer einheitlichen, internationalen Schnittstelle zwischen Akzeptanten und Acquirern werden. Der Standard erlaubt sowohl eine direkte Verbindung zwischen Händler und Acquirer als auch die klassische Variante über einen Payment Service Provider (PSP). Er soll Multi-Acquiring-Strategien erleichtern und mehr Compliance über Ländergrenzen hinweg ermöglichen.

Das Nexo Retailer Protocol

Das Nexo Protokoll für Händler definiert eine ganze Reihe von Schnittstellen zwischen Payment Terminal und dem Kassensystem. Dabei sorgt es für eine klare Trennung zwischen dem ERP und dem Bezahlungsprozess, unterstützt unterschiedliche Bezahl- und Kundenbindungsprogramme und bietet einen einheitlichen Ansatz für unterschiedliche technische Umgebungen.

Das Nexo TMS Protocol

Dieses offene Protokoll dient als Schnittstelle zwischen einem Terminal Management System (TMS) und einem Bezahlsystem. Die neue Schnittstelle unterstützt die Konfiguration und das Management aller Terminals – und soll wiederum verhindern, dass Händler durch Lock-In-Effekte an bestimmte Hersteller gebunden werden.

ISO 20022: Die technische Norm, auf der alle Nexo Protokolle basieren

Der Standard ISO 20022 wurde als gemeinsame Norm für die Finanzindustrie entwickelt, um die Kommunikation von Informationen über verschiedene Unterbereiche der Branche hinweg zu vereinheitlichen.

Die Logik hinter dieser Norm basiert auf einer strikten Trennung zwischen dem grundsätzlichen Prinzip, wie die Informationen dargestellt werden (dem eigentlichen Standard) und der tatsächlichen Darstellung der Informationen in einer Programmiersprache (der Syntax). Das macht Standards wie die Nexo Protokolle unabhängig von den jeweiligen Coding-Konventionen. Damit bildet die ISO 20022 eine wichtige Basis für die Interoperabilität unterschiedlicher Systeme im Bereich bargeldloser Zahlungen.

Da die konkrete Software-Implementierung sich dadurch jedoch immer unterscheidet, kann ein Wechsel trotzdem mit hohem Aufwand verbunden sein.

Das Nexo Retailer Protocol im Detail

Für den integrierten Betrieb des Payment Terminals müssen Kasse und Terminal miteinander kommunizieren: Das Payment Terminal erfährt von der Kasse die Transaktionsart und den Betrag. Nach Abschluss des Bezahlvorgangs liefert das Gerät die Ergebnisse zurück an die Kasse. Diese Kommunikation erfolgt über ein definiertes Protokoll.

Der Status Quo: International unterschiedliche Protokolle

In Europa hat jedes Land seine eigenen vorherrschenden Kommunikationsprotokolle. In Deutschland zum Beispiel ist das ZVT-Protokoll ein Beispiel für den Versuch einer nationalen Standardisierung. Darüber hinaus finden aber zusätzlich noch eine ganze Reihe weiterer Protokolle Verwendung. Dabei kommt es auch vor, dass Acquirer eigene, neue Kassenschnittstellen entwickeln.

Das macht den Austausch eines Terminals (und damit den Wechsel des Acquirers) für die Händler sehr aufwändig. Welche Lock-in-Effekte daraus für Händler resultieren, haben wir in einem eigenen Artikel zum Thema Multi-Acquiring erläutert.

Die Nexo Kassenschnittstelle: Versuch einer internationalen Standardisierung

Das Nexo Protokoll für die Kommunikation zwischen Payment Terminal und Kasse soll den Händlern ermöglichen, problemlos zwischen den Terminals verschiedener Anbieter wechseln zu können – und damit nicht länger an bestimmte Acquirer gebunden zu sein.

Obwohl das Nexo Protokoll noch relativ neu am Markt ist, bietet es Nutzern bereits einen sehr grossen Funktionsumfang. Da es auf der ISO 20022 Norm basiert, erlaubt es zudem, sowohl den Funktionsumfang als auch den Kommunikationsablauf in einer späteren Version zu verändern, ohne dass das einen Einfluss auf bestehende Systeme hat.

Wie verbreitet ist das Nexo Retailer Protocol?

Bis dato (Stand August 2021) ist das Nexo Retailer Protocol noch als ein Nischenprotokoll zu betrachten: Aktuell ist es nämlich noch nicht wirklich weit verbreitet.

Sein modernes, offenes Design sowie die Tatsache, dass die Organisation Nexo Standards viele Grössen der Branche hinter sich vereint, lassen jedoch vermuten, dass das Nexo Protocol in Zukunft eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle spielen wird.

Wie ist das Nexo Protokoll für die Kommunikation zwischen Payment Terminal und Kasse aufgebaut?

Jede Nachricht, die beim Nexo Retailer Protocol zwischen Payment Terminal und Kasse ausgetauscht wird, folgt einem strikten Aufbau:

  • Nachrichtenkopf
  • Nachrichteninhalt
  • Sicherheitsabschnitt

Wie sind die Daten beim Nexo Protocol verpackt?

Das Nexo Protocol ist bewusst sehr offen gestaltet und lässt für das Format der verwendeten Daten drei verschiedene Formate zu:

Wie werden die verpackten Daten beim Nexo Protocol verschickt?

Auch beim Transportprotokoll lässt das Nexo Protocol drei unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten zu:

Was bedeutet diese Offenheit des Nexo Protocol für die Händler?

Acquirer und Terminalintegratoren können frei entscheiden, welches Datenformat oder Transportprotokoll sie wählen. Einerseits kann diese Offenheit natürlich zur schnelleren Verbreitung des Nexo Protocols beitragen.

Für Händler bedeutet es aber auch: Nexo ist nicht gleich Nexo. Denn die unterschiedlichen Implementationsoptionen verhindern bei einem Terminalwechsel oft ein Plug & Play. Der Aufwand beim Austausch kann schnell (fast) genauso gross werden wie bei anderen Kommunikationsprotokollen.

Nexo Protocol: Vorteile für Händler

  • Das Nexo Protocol hat enormes Zukunftspotenzial, da Nexo Standards die grössten Unternehmen der Branche hinter sich vereint hat
  • Das moderne Design des Protokolls ermöglicht einen grossen Funktionsumfang, der alle aktuellen Anforderungen der Branche (Mobile Payment, Bonussysteme etc.) umfasst
  • Durch die offene Gestaltung kann das Protokoll jederzeit um zukünftige Funktionen erweitert werden
  • Bei geeigneter Wahl von Datenformat und Transportprotokoll ist das Nexo Protokoll Cloud-fähig
  • Bei geeigneter Wahl des Transportprotokolls ist das Nexo Protokoll sicher im Sinne einer Übertragung übers Public Internet

Nexo Protocol: Nachteile für Händler

  • Die Offenheit des Nexo Protokolls bringt gleichzeitig einen entscheidenden Nachteil mit sich: Bei der Umsetzung des Protokolls in eine konkrete Software gibt es grosse Interpretationsspielräume.
  • So entstehen auch beim Nexo Protocol Acquirer-spezifische, proprietäre Protokollerweiterungen, die einen Wechsel für Händler aufwändig machen und das Ziel der Interoperabilität torpedieren.

Die Vorteile universeller Kassenschnittstellen

Was sind also die Alternativen, wenn nicht einmal das neue Nexo Protocol absolute Interoperabilität und Flexibilität gewährleisten kann?

Die Antwort ist eine universelle Schnittstelle, die nicht nur über 150 verschiedene Kommunikationsprotokolle «beherrscht», sondern auch alle üblichen Interpretationen und Erweiterungen, die über den Standard dieser Kommunikationsprotokolle hinausgehen.

Diese Schnittstelle namens Pepper macht die Anbindung neuer Terminal-Modelle (bzw. der Kassenschnittstellen) im In- und Ausland sehr schnell und einfach. Darüber hinaus schenkt sie Einzelhandelsunternehmen mehr Flexibilität und Unabhängigkeit, wenn es darum geht, mit welchem Acquirer sie zusammenarbeiten.

Zusammenfassung: Das Nexo Protokoll

  • Aktuell ist das Nexo Retailer Protocol noch nicht weit verbreitet, was sich jedoch wahrscheinlich in den nächsten Jahren ändern wird.
  • Denn der Zusammenschluss hinter den Nexo Protokollen, die Organisation Nexo Standards, vereint einige der grössten Unternehmen der Branche hinter sich.
  • Die Nexo Protokolle wurden auf Basis der ISO 20022 Norm neu entwickelt und bieten alle State-of-the-Art-Funktionen und Features
  • Durch das offene Design kann das Protokoll jederzeit um zukünftige Funktionen erweitert werden.
  • Der damit einhergehende Interpretationsspielraum des Protokolls ermöglicht andererseits aber auch Acquirer-spezifische, proprietäre Protokollerweiterungen, die Händlern wiederum einen einfachen Terminal-Wechsel erschweren können.
  • Universelle Schnittstellen, wie z.B. Pepper von treibauf, beherrschen alle üblichen Kommunikationsprotokolle (u.a. auch das Nexo Protocol)  und erleichtern damit die Anbindung neuer Payment Terminals.
Recent posts

Debitkarte: PostFinance öffnet durch Co-Branding den EFT-Markt in der Schweiz

19. Oktober 2021 – Erfahren Sie, was das Co-Branding der neuen PostFinance Debit Card mit Mastercard für Acquirer & Händler:innen bedeutet. Weiterlesen

Multi-Acquiring: Warum es sich lohnen kann, auf mehr als eine Acquiring Bank zu setzen

9. September 2021 – Was ist eine Acquiring Bank / Händlerbank? Warum lohnt es sich für Händler, auf Multi-Acquiring zu setzen? treibauf erklärt’s. Weiterlesen

Wie Matchbox hilft, Urlaube erholsamer zu machen

27. Juli 2021 – Mitte 2018 entschied sich «Bühnen Bern» dafür, die eigene Buchhaltung mit Hilfe von Matchbox zu erleichtern und deutlich effizienter zu machen. Weiterlesen